O.U.R. Mission History
June 16, 1948
A group of local businessmen with a desire to minister to the needy of Orlando meet at Broadway Methodist Church to discuss the formation of a nonprofit organization.
Nov. 6, 1948
The Orlando Union Rescue Mission is officially incorporated. Sites during the early years include 919 W. Central Blvd., 225 Boone St., and 211 W. Central Blvd.
The Mission moves into the former New England Hotel at 410 W. Central Blvd.
A 21-foot neon cross with 10-inch letters is purchased for $778 and is placed atop the building.
O.U.R. Mission Family Home opens with 60 beds at 1525 W. Washington St.
Jan. 31, 1991
Mission Bargain Store at 911 W. Central Blvd. is destroyed by fire. The store reopens a month later at a temporary location, and then moves back to a new two-story building at its former (and current) site in January 1992.
Feb. 19, 1995
O.U.R. Mission Family Home dedicates a 20,500-square-foot addition that includes 114 beds and administration offices.
March 15, 1998
Arthur J. and Marie H. Williams Family Life Center is dedicated on the Washington Street campus, west of the Mission Home. This 23,000-square-foot facility includes three classrooms, a computer lab, library, nursery, youth recreation room, and gymnasium.
April 3, 2002
Iconic neon cross atop the Men’s Home on West Central Boulevard is designated a historic landmark by the Orlando City Council.
Moody Chapel is dedicated on the west end of the Washington Street campus. The 9,000-square-foot facility hosts worship services, Bible studies and other activities for Mission residents.
The Mission agrees to sell the Men’s Home at 410 W. Central Blvd. to the Orlando Magic, pending the location of a site and construction of a new Men’s Home.
Family Life Center undergoes $147,500 renovation to create a space designed specifically to meet the unique emotional, academic, and spiritual needs of homeless children.
Plans are announced for the renovation of the former Parkwood Inn, at 3300 W. Colonial Drive, into a Men’s Home that will feature approximately 200 beds as well as a new chapel and a dining hall.
March 4, 2017
The Mission hosted its inaugural “Homecoming” gala. The keynote speaker was Ron Hall, author of the bestselling autobiography, “Same Kind of Different As Me.” More than 300 guests attended, and the event’s silent auction raised $250,000 for the Mission.
March 17, 2017
Official groundbreaking ceremony is held at site of new Men’s Home. The $6.2 million project will be completed in early 2018.
August 29, 2019
President/CEO Freddy Clayton and the Board of Directors cut the ceremonial ribbon to open the new $6.2 million Project Hope facility.
The Mission hosted its first annual ceremony in honor and celebration of its most recent Discipleship Program graduates.
Check out our most recent updates here.